10
Mar
08

in a state of temporal flux – please try again later

Time goes, you say? Ah no!
Alas, Time stays, we go.
~Henry Austin Dobson

If that’s true, I’m so far gone today I don’t know when or where I am.

I haven’t had to deal with Daylight Savings Time in nearly 5 years, so this morning was something of a crisis for me. I can barely drag my ass out of bed at the “normal” time every morning, and now they want me up an hour earlier? So, I feel a little out of it.

Last night I watched a movie called What Time Is It There? and I must admit that I completely overlooked its relevance to the recent DST switch until I started to compose this post. The film takes place in Taiwan, where a watch vendor sells to a woman leaving for Paris the next day. Upon her departure, he goes around town switching every clock he can find to Paris time. Hilarity doesn’t ensue, but if you’ve seen any other Ming-liang Tsai films, you might have guessed at that. I really like his style, in the same way I like Wong Kar-wai and Jim Jarmusch. Human stories told with minimal interference. They hit me in the gut every time.

What Time Is It There is about being alone, and the dull despair of being lonely. It’s about our perception of time and distance, and the invisible connections between people worlds apart.

red starred starred starred star

,k

0 Responses to “in a state of temporal flux – please try again later”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

recently del.icio.us

RSS What I’m Watching

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
The occasional MP3 found on this blog is for taste-test purposes only, and will only be available for a limited time. Please email me regarding the removal of uploaded audio, if necessary. And please, if you like the artist, support the artist.

